News‎ > ‎

Work anywhere with Google Docs, Sheets, and Slides in new Offline Mode

posted Apr 29, 2019, 7:46 PM by ITS Website
It's now possible for users to work on Docs, Sheets, and Slides files when your device is offline or have a bad internet connection with Google Drive. You can also preview which files are available offline with a new offline preview mode.

Right click on Docs, Sheets, and Slides files from within Google Drive to make those files available offline.

You can preview which files are available offline using the Offline preview mode

It is important for users to access and work on their files while traveling or when there's low connectivity. With offline mode, it's now possible to create, edit, and comment on Docs, Sheets, or Slides files. Any changes made to files while offline will then sync in Drive once the user is connected again.

To work with your files offline, you'll need to enable offline access in your Drive settings:
  • From Google Drive, click the hear icon at the top right corner, select Settings > General and select Sync Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, and Drawings files to this computer so that you can edit offline.
  • Once offline access is enabled, a check mark icon will appear in the top right next to Settings (gear icon) and Support (question mark). When you click this icon, you can find the offline preview toggle.

To make files available offline in Google Drive, right click on any file and toggle Available offline from the menu while connected.

When offline access is enabled, Google Drive also automatically and intelligently makes a certain number of Google Docs/Sheets/Slides files available offline based on how recently you accessed them. You can preview which files are already available offline, automatically using the offline preview mode. You can also mark a file available offline, so that it always remains available offline, while in offline preview mode as long as you are connected.

The Google Docs Offline extension, which is made available by default to all Chrome users, is still required.
Comments